2014 Semi-Finals

Week 3 of playoffs:

Some notes from another State.

  1. Spots/Lines: Ask yourself each down – Am I covering the appropriate line – Goal line, End line, Line to gain, and/or Sideline? Do I know the down & distance on each down? Crucial Spot for Forward progress – Do I look to the Back Side Wing for help when needed? Do I know the spot of enforcement, yardage, & spot of foul.
  2. Player Equipment: Watched a TV Game where there were numerous examples of illegal equipment such as shoulder pads & back pads exposed. We need to correct these immediately!
  3. Point of Emphasis: Both Wings are responsible for the yardage on all penalties along with the U. Line Judge hold line and Linesman get to succeeding spot.
  4. Point of Emphasis: Intentional Grounding is called & enforced at Previous Spot. Correct? No! How can 5 officials miss the enforcement? Please discuss. Who will step forward for a crew save!!!
  5. Unsportsmanlike: A3 thought he was interfered with & began aggressively signaling DPI to the Crew. The Crew did nothing. This is Unsportsmanlike!! The player is embarrassing the Crew. Take control of the game!

After a week of reviewing the UHS vs. SC game ending I think the referee did an outstanding job of gathering information from the undecided crew to make the call. This same referee has been assigned to a D3 game this weekend. Seems like his reward for doing what he had to do.

Wings need to be cautious on out of bounds plays they cover. They need to quickly look to see if they are in danger of being run over, but then they must turn and officiate the action out of bounds. Had a back judge give the NFL touchback signal. Why is this still a problem? Same back judge did not drop bean bag for possible momentum applications.

Wings and anybody else covering the goal line, give the TD signal as soon as you see the ball break the plane and there is no forward progress stopped short of the goal line.

Under the heading “Can you Believe This?” We had an opening kickoff and the ball was touched by K somewhere near R’s 35-yard line, then the ball bounced off of an R player, then K picked up the ball and advanced it into the end zone. The covering official signaled TD. The crew then assembled and decided K could not advance the ball and took away the TD. They then proceeded to give the ball to R because of “first touching by K”. NO NO NO, This can’t be. The ball should have been awarded to K at the spot where he possessed it. This was a free kick and first touching only occurs in the 10-yard wide neutral zone. In the same game we had an inadvertent whistle and it took several minutes to decide what to do with the play. The referee went to both coaches, which is a no-no in this case and placed the ball near the 2-yard line, then moved it back to the 20, then moved it again. This is simple – if you ever (heaven forbid) have an inadvertent whistle and the ball is in player possession, there are two choices, take the result of the play where blown dead or replay the down. Don’t make a federal case of this stuff. The captains are to make the choice. Unless something really awful happens we should not be conferring with the coaches, let the kids handle it. They finally decided to replay the down but did not really know where the previous spot was because the sticks had already been moved.

Is it any wonder why my hair disappeared and what is left turned grey?

Should be some good football during the Super Six. Frankfort and St. Marys are making their first appearance ever at this event.

Follow-up to week 3 playoff report:

I was misinformed regarding — Under the heading “Can you Believe This?” We had an opening kickoff and the ball was touched by K somewhere near R’s 35-yard line, then the ball bounced off of an R player, then K picked up the ball and advanced it into the end zone. The covering official signaled TD. The crew then assembled and decided K could not advance the ball and took away the TD. They then proceeded to give the ball to R because of “first touching by K”. NO NO NO, This can’t be. The ball should have been awarded to K at the spot where he possessed it. This was a free kick and first touching only occurs in the 10-yard wide neutral zone.

What actually happened was a punt, so we do have first touching beyond the neutral zone. The play quoted above was not as bad as I thought. I finally got the game film and found out I was misinformed. The covering official did follow K to the end zone without killing the play. K can possess the kick but may not advance.