Updated email/members lists and meeting times

The latest members list has been added to the website.  Also, the subscriber email list has been updated to include new members and delete guys that have left the board.  Please review your information and let me know if any changes need to be made.  The meeting times have been posted.  At the bottom of the page, a “subscribe” link will allow you to add this calendar to your personal online calendar such as google, apple, yahoo etc.

2016 Members Roster Update

The latest members roster has been posted.  Due to the number of “spam” roster update requests, the member update page is also password protected using  the current board password.  Hopefully the will alleviate any further website intrusions.

2014 Football Finals

AA Game; Rain, rain, rain. That is never a good thing There were two dead ball fouls, one per team and the referee announced they offset. Half the distance could have been involved, one foul could have been accessed on the try, the other on the kickoff or both could have been accessed on the kickoff. They do not offset and each carries its own distance penalty. Even if the fouls occurred simultaneously they do not offset. We just stay where we are.

If this ever happens to you and a 1st down or half the distance are not involved, just announce the fouls and state the enforcement leaves the ball at this final spot.

AAA Game; Rain, rain, rain. Have I mentioned this before? This game was really an example of poorly disciplined kids. Their actions were an embarrassment to the game of football. The crew handled it and got us out of the stadium without a brawl. Coaches need to learn when kids misbehave, sitting them on the bench may be a big help in modifying their behavior.

A Game: No rain. Best game of the Super Six. The toughest team won. http://wvmetronews.com/2014/12/06/photo-gallery-williamstown-and-st-marys-battle-for-class-a-title/

Need to view videos of these games to discern areas of concern to all of us. Our officials worked hard and did really well. I apologized to the AAA crew for getting them into such a mess. Someone has to work these games and they accepted the challenge and made the rest of the officials in WV proud.

2014 Semi-Finals

Week 3 of playoffs:

Some notes from another State.

  1. Spots/Lines: Ask yourself each down – Am I covering the appropriate line – Goal line, End line, Line to gain, and/or Sideline? Do I know the down & distance on each down? Crucial Spot for Forward progress – Do I look to the Back Side Wing for help when needed? Do I know the spot of enforcement, yardage, & spot of foul.
  2. Player Equipment: Watched a TV Game where there were numerous examples of illegal equipment such as shoulder pads & back pads exposed. We need to correct these immediately!
  3. Point of Emphasis: Both Wings are responsible for the yardage on all penalties along with the U. Line Judge hold line and Linesman get to succeeding spot.
  4. Point of Emphasis: Intentional Grounding is called & enforced at Previous Spot. Correct? No! How can 5 officials miss the enforcement? Please discuss. Who will step forward for a crew save!!!
  5. Unsportsmanlike: A3 thought he was interfered with & began aggressively signaling DPI to the Crew. The Crew did nothing. This is Unsportsmanlike!! The player is embarrassing the Crew. Take control of the game!

After a week of reviewing the UHS vs. SC game ending I think the referee did an outstanding job of gathering information from the undecided crew to make the call. This same referee has been assigned to a D3 game this weekend. Seems like his reward for doing what he had to do.

Wings need to be cautious on out of bounds plays they cover. They need to quickly look to see if they are in danger of being run over, but then they must turn and officiate the action out of bounds. Had a back judge give the NFL touchback signal. Why is this still a problem? Same back judge did not drop bean bag for possible momentum applications.

Wings and anybody else covering the goal line, give the TD signal as soon as you see the ball break the plane and there is no forward progress stopped short of the goal line.

Under the heading “Can you Believe This?” We had an opening kickoff and the ball was touched by K somewhere near R’s 35-yard line, then the ball bounced off of an R player, then K picked up the ball and advanced it into the end zone. The covering official signaled TD. The crew then assembled and decided K could not advance the ball and took away the TD. They then proceeded to give the ball to R because of “first touching by K”. NO NO NO, This can’t be. The ball should have been awarded to K at the spot where he possessed it. This was a free kick and first touching only occurs in the 10-yard wide neutral zone. In the same game we had an inadvertent whistle and it took several minutes to decide what to do with the play. The referee went to both coaches, which is a no-no in this case and placed the ball near the 2-yard line, then moved it back to the 20, then moved it again. This is simple – if you ever (heaven forbid) have an inadvertent whistle and the ball is in player possession, there are two choices, take the result of the play where blown dead or replay the down. Don’t make a federal case of this stuff. The captains are to make the choice. Unless something really awful happens we should not be conferring with the coaches, let the kids handle it. They finally decided to replay the down but did not really know where the previous spot was because the sticks had already been moved.

Is it any wonder why my hair disappeared and what is left turned grey?

Should be some good football during the Super Six. Frankfort and St. Marys are making their first appearance ever at this event.

Follow-up to week 3 playoff report:

I was misinformed regarding — Under the heading “Can you Believe This?” We had an opening kickoff and the ball was touched by K somewhere near R’s 35-yard line, then the ball bounced off of an R player, then K picked up the ball and advanced it into the end zone. The covering official signaled TD. The crew then assembled and decided K could not advance the ball and took away the TD. They then proceeded to give the ball to R because of “first touching by K”. NO NO NO, This can’t be. The ball should have been awarded to K at the spot where he possessed it. This was a free kick and first touching only occurs in the 10-yard wide neutral zone.

What actually happened was a punt, so we do have first touching beyond the neutral zone. The play quoted above was not as bad as I thought. I finally got the game film and found out I was misinformed. The covering official did follow K to the end zone without killing the play. K can possess the kick but may not advance.

2014 Week 2 Playoffs

Week 2 of 2014 Playoffs:

Carry over from week 1: On a 3rd down play and Team A coming from near their own goal line, A1 advances near the line to gain. A2 commits a block in the back at the 8 yard line and unable to determine if the line to gain was reached I gave preliminary signal and then measured to find it was about 2 inches short. Then I proceeded to give B1 choice of 4th and inches or take the penalty which was only going to be a 4-yd penalty due to half the distance.

Correct way to handle? I said yes. Get all the information you can to give captains the best options.

From another game: We almost got caught on a nice trick play in our game. The QB took the snap and put it behind his back and backed away from center and all the lineman screamed “BALL” like it was a fumble and dove in a big pile around the center. Then he underthrew the end but it was a long gainer. The defensive end smelled it out but was a little late to the QB. I took a couple steps in as well as my umpire toward the pile and the QB had it standing right beside me. Luckily we stayed off the whistle!!!

In the University vs. South Charleston game Friday night there was a bang-bang play at the goal line. The crew did not do a good job of selling their call. See http://wvmetronews.com/2014/11/21/watch-south-charlestons-game-winning-touchdown-over-university/ Prior to the start of this game the University team crept out to past the top of the numbers just before the coin toss. The referee motioned them back when he should have confronted them, directing them to the sideline. The University coach then took control and moved his players back.

In a game at St. Marys the crew had a measurement and picked up the ball and carried it to the wing man rather than the wingman moving into where the real spot was. Looked real bad.

We need to remind visiting coaches this week to stay off the home team’s logo for a display prior to the coin toss.

There were some ejections and the Special Report was late getting to the office. Don’t know if it was caused by the website being down or what. During playoffs get your Special Reports in as quickly as possible. Overall the second round was pretty well officiated. Nice work guys.

2014 Week 11

2014 Week 11

Good shot of a hurdle that was called Friday night.

Hurdle

By the way, to have a block in the back it must be inside the shoulders.  A block on a shoulder blade is not a block in the back.  The position of the head is not a determining factor.  When you can see the number of the opponent being blocked then the contact was not inside the shoulders.

Coaches and fans to not understand the blocking rules nor do they understand the rules involving tackling, re; horse-collar.

Here’s the situation: K 4/10 at K10, 8 seconds left. K punts the ball towards the sideline. R signals for a fair catch at the R45 right in front of me on the wing. After making the catch, he is tackled by K54 with 2 seconds remaining for a dead ball personal foul, enforced to the K40.
Team B’s coach immediately starts yelling he wants a free kick. We actually got it lined up and kicked pretty quickly. The ball went through the pipes and the R and U got to signal  to end the half.

ref

What is wrong with this play?  I got it from some forum.